Terrorism, and our reaction to it

by Neil Rickert

This morning, I was pleased with what I heard on NPR, a Diane Rehm Show discussion “Understanding the Threat of Terrorism“.

One of the guests was Christopher Preble of the Cato Institute.  Normally, I am underwhelmed by what I hear from the Cato Institute, for it usually has a political orientation far to the right of what makes sense to me.  However, in this case, I happened to agree with a lot of what Preble had to say.  He is co-editor of “Terrorizing Ourselves: Why U.S. Counterterrorism Policy Is Failing and How to Fix It.”  The view he expresses is one that I have long held, namely that our government’s anti-terrorism policy has been doing Osama’s work for him, by instilling fear in the American people.

Leave a Reply

