Oops! Apparently WordPress was hacked

by Neil Rickert

It seems that there was a break in to the wordpress site.  Oh, well, I guess that happens to lots of sites.  Fortunately, I use a random password and I create a new password for each site.  No, I don’t remember them all, but I do keep my password list in an encrypted file.

On a related security matter, I must say that wordpress does a great job of spam filtering.  The statistics show that I have been hit with 588 spams.  All but one of those was automatically detected by the wordpress software.  Moreover, there have been no false positives that I know of.  Well, I suppose that I can’t be sure, since spam to sufficiently old posts is just auto-deleted and I am only shown spam to recent posts.  Still, the accuracy on the ones I have seen is pretty good.

The latest spam begins “It is very interesting for me to read the post.”  If the spammers were a little more creative, and actually showed evidence of having read the post they are commenting on, maybe a few would sneak through.

Back to the hacking.  It seems not too serious, if we can trust what wordpress says about it.  In any case, it is only a blog – it isn’t real life.  I heard about the hacking at the dslreports forum, which I frequent.

