Purpose (7) – summary and index

by Neil Rickert

I have been pondering whether to continue this series with more posts.  But I think I’ll end it here for now.  I will later have some independent posts that are related.

Summary

One of the arguments that we repeatedly see from creationists, is that there is something missing from a purely mechanistic view of the world, and that is where they want to put their deity or intelligent designer.  What they see missing, is an explanation of an apparent purpose.

Part of that missing purpose is a backward construct from their theology, and their wish that they (or humankind) be a product of purpose.  I cannot find any basis for that.  However, there does seem to be a basis for seeing apparently purposeful behavior in biological systems.  And that’s what I have been discussing.

My main emphasis has been to show that there is an adequate natural account for this apparently purposeful behavior, so there is no need to call on theology for a pseudo-explanation.

Index

For ease of future reference, here’s an index to the posts in this series:

2 Comments to “Purpose (7) – summary and index”

  1. What is missing from a purely mechanistic view of the world is supporting evidence.

    Like