Wishing you a merry Christmas

by Neil Rickert

Growing up in Australia, Christmas was rather different from what it is here in USA. We would hear about a “white Christmas”, but it never snowed in Perth. The dominant color for Christmas was blue, as with a blue sky. It can be unpleasantly hot, as it is summer in that part of the world.

My earliest memories of Christmas were of a hot meal — I think it was roast lamb. But after a few years, it changed to salads as more fitting to the summer weather. There was usually a family get together, and many a family cricket game. I did not much care for cricket.

Last year, for Christmas, I posted Tim Minchin’s song “White Wine in the Sun”, because it reminded me of the summer Christmases of my younger years.

This year, I’m not doing anything much special for Christmas. For me, it is just another day of the year.

5 Comments to “Wishing you a merry Christmas”

  1. If it weren’t for the “Christians” it WOULD be just another day of the year. As it is, besides the religious aspect, it’s become a commercialized money-maker for the already-too-wealthy.

    In any event … Have a Good Day!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am a non-believer, so it has no religious context for me, but I do enjoy Christmas as a time to spend with family, and I enjoy the lights and bright colours on and under the tree! When I had small children, it was watching their faces alight with joy on Christmas morning. As I get older, I find it’s all more exhausting and I’m always glad when it’s over, but I still enjoyed it. Happy holiday to you, Neil!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Neil. You’ll be pleased to know that Melbourne, and the whole East Coast, had rain, rain and more rain on Xmas day. lol Trust me, you didn’t miss a thing!
    The Offspring and I celebrate xmas on the 24th and have basically leftovers on the 25th [now that family get togethers aren’t possible]. So it was a very pleasant couple of days with lots of good food, but other than that, yeah…just another day.
    Hope your New Year is a bit more fun. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I seem to remember spending a few days in Melbourne (actually Oak ParK) at around Christmas time. This would have been 1958 or 1959. I had a summer job in Adelaide, so over Christmas break, I took a train to Melbourne and visited and aunt who lived in Oak Park.

      My memory of this has just about vanished, but I think there was a little rain over that period. In Perth we rarely had rain in December.

      Liked by 1 person